Birthday Time!

Hello!

Yesterday it was my birthday! Now, I’m not one for big celebrations – I’m not sure why, but I’ve never liked having a big fuss made of me!

My other half wanted to take me out for dinner with my Mum and Dad as a low key celebration, but having been Lactose Intolerant for the last however many years (I’ve lost count!), and recently starting eating Gluten free as well, eating out is just a nightmare!

Even when you think you’ve ordered something ‘safe’ it comes to the table with a suprise creamy sauce covering everything, uh-oh!

Just last week we went to a restaurant with friends, and all I could eat was a plain chicken salad, no dressing! YAWN! When it came, the chicken was so dried out, and it was not an enjoyable experience.

So for my birthday, I said I really wasn’t up for going out, and would rather eat at home! Having time together as a family is really important to me, and having recently returned from a fantastic few months abroad, it’s lovely to be home.

To my suprise, my awesome Mum had come up with a full blown dairy and gluten free menu – she actually made the menu and everything!

I was so excited to have options to choose from, yummy foods that I really miss, and even the option to try something a bit fancy and new!

My Mum was amazing, cooking 4 different starters and dinners for us, all at the same time. The whole thing must have taken her ages to prepare, from researching and putting together the menu, getting the special ingredients and managing to keep it a suprise!

A lot of the time I find the dairy and gluten free alternatives to be far less tasty than the ‘real deal’, but I can honestly say that I had the most fantastic meal! The feeling after of being full, but not painfully bloated and poorly was soooooo good!

To top it off, my brother (who now lives in Canada) facetimed us just as we were sitting down to eat. We stood up the iPad at the end of the table, and it was like he was in the room with us, which was a real treat! I know it sounds a little strange, but it was the best we could do, and it made tge night even more special!

I have also been thoroughly spoilt, with the most thoughtful presents from my other half and family, including a trip to the theatre very soon! How exciting!

Here’s to another great year!!

xx

Leave a Reply

