5 Reasons why I don’t drink

20140730-183137-66697005.jpg

When I tell people I don’t drink alcohol, a few of the usual reactions are

“Oh my God are you serious?!”
“What if you have a bad day?”
“That’s boring!”

Most commonly…… “WHY NOT?!”

I find it bizarre how shocked people are at the fact that I choose not to drink. It is almost like it is an alien concept, so I thought I’d share a few of my top reasons for not drinking.

1) It is SOOOOOO bad for you!!
I’ve always been pretty interested in nutrition, and being physically fit and healthy. Alcohol is so toxic to the body, and most of the time full of sugar, I don’t understand why anyone would want to put such a toxic thing in their body?!

2) I don’t like the taste.
Honestly! I would much rather order a drink I will enjoy, than one I will have to endure.

3) I can’t deal with a hangover.
When I first started drinking I wasn’t really affected by hangovers, but all of a sudden I started getting them and they were BAD!! I can’t bring myself to drink knowing in advance how awful I’ll feel the next day. It put’s me off so much, I’d rather not drink at all!

4) It is stupidly expensive.
Why would I choose to spend £50 on a night out, and have nothing to show for it but temporary memory loss and the most unflattering pictures of myself which will never be seen by ANYONE! I’d rather spend that money on some lovely high end make up which I’ll enjoy using over and over for months!

5) I can have a good time without it.
I don’t feel the need to drink to be able to have a good time!

This isn’t to say I don’t approve of anyone that does drink – in fact, most of my friends do.

Do you choose not to drink, or do you also think I’m mad?! I’d love to know your reasons!

*Image does not belong to me. Found here.

♥♥♥

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’

6 thoughts on “5 Reasons why I don’t drink

  1. I’m 17 and tried getting drunk on NYE but couldn’t haha, I’m pretty much the only 17 year old I know who doesn’t drink on a regular basis and has never been drunk. It’s just not my thing and I don’t need alcohol to have a good time, reading this was reassuring! 🙂

    Like

    • I’m so happy you found this reassuring! Never feel pressured to drink if it’s not something you enjoy. We can still have a good time without drinking, and have extra pennies to buy ourselves pretty things!! xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s true! I’m looking to move out in the next few months which I would rather spend my money on 🙂 x

        Like

Leave a Reply

