Learning to love running!

image

Running is a great form of exercise.  It is free, doesn’t require any fancy equipment, and you can do it any time of day or night.

I used to absolutely HATE running!  I couldn’t even run to the end of the road without having to stop, I just didn’t have the stamina to keep going!  Last year, my other half and I decided to start running together, and although sometimes it’s still a struggle to get motivated – I’ve decided to put together my top tips on learning to love running!

1.  Have a running buddy.
Having a person you can share your journey with is so important for me.  We encourage each other and help keep each other motivated.  If I don’t feel like running one day and Sean gets ready to go – it gives me the kick I need to suck it up and go as well!

It is so nice sharing your fitness journey, and you have someone who understands how tough it can be, and can celebrate your success!

2. Set a goal.
Whether that’s a distance or a weight loss goal, having something to focus on helps you stay motivated both before and during yor run.

For me, it was to be able to run 5km without stopping, not the biggest of goals, but when I reached it I was over the moon and it pushed me to progress further.

3. Start small.
It’s not realistic to go out and smash a 5km run on your first try. Have a no pressure run, just see how you get on and stop when it gets too much.

By doing this you’ll have a starting point and can then build up bit by bit. I started by just going one road further each time.  You’ll be surprised how quickly you can build it up, and soon what was a struggle to complete in your first few runs will just feel like a warm up!  Go you!

These 3 things really helped me get going and keep myself motivated.  Do you have any of your own tips?!  I’d love to hear them – let me know in the comments!

♥♥♥

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

