New Years Resolutions – Update!

Well, well, well, we’re well over halfway through the year already – how did that happen?!

For many people, New Years Resolutions made in a hazy moment whilst out celebrating the new year will be a very distant memory, so I thought I’d take a moment an re-visit mine.  You can find my original blog post here.

My first resolution was to be happy.  This included making the effort to visit my friends around the country, and having a little splurge shopping every now and then.  This year I got married, and I am still on cloud nine. We such a special day, and just thinking of the day now brings a huge smile to my face *cringe*.  I still need to make a bit more of an effort to meet up with my chums, but everyones frantic schedules make this difficult, so I’ll keep working on this one!  The splurging part – I’m getting pretty good at 😉

Next up was to eat clean.  I can honestly say I’m trying really hard to stick to this!  I’m trying to change the way I think about food, similar to way I  think about alcohol.  With alcohol, I know how bad it will make me feel hours and the following day after drinking it, so I have no desire to put that poison in my body!  When it comes to chocolate however, I know I’ll feel like rubbish after eating it (lactose intolerant over here!) but I eat it anyway and tell myself I can ‘put up’ with the pain/reaction.  Not fun.  However, I’m doing so much better than before – go me!

Number 3 was to learn to enjoy cooking.  This one is not going so well I’m afraid. I treated myself to some new cook books (splurge session!), but I think cooking is just not my forte.  It’s not that I’m particularly bad at it – my husband seems happy enough! – but I just feel like my time is better spend elsewhere!  I have been getting a bit more adventurous though, so I’ll keep working on this one…

Last up was to get fitter.  I am certainly a lot fitter than I was at the start of the year!  Sean and I now go out for regular runs together.  He’s much faster than me, but I just go at my own pace and try to get a little bit further each time!  We did a 5K race a few months ago, he beat me by a long way but it was fun having a goal to work towards.  I never finished the Kayla Itsines work out which I am so annoyed with myself for.  I got ill about 5 weeks in and as it broke my routine, I just couldn’t get back into it.

I’m determined to start it again though, and be bikini body ready for our honeymoon in November.  That’s 3 months to get in shape – can I do it?  We’ll find out!

How are your resolutions going?  Have you managed to keep them up, or like me do you need to get back on track?!  Let me know in the comments!

♥♥♥

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’| YouTube

Leave a Reply

