What I learned… Blogging for 2 years!

After yet another break from my blog I decided to sign in today – and Wordpress tells me it’s the 2nd anniversary of my blog!  Happy Birthday to my lovely little space on the internet!

To mark the occasion I thought I’d share a few things I’ve learnt from blogging in the last 2 years!

Write about what you want to write about

This is your little piece of internet, write about whatever the hell you want!  If you’re psyched about musical theatre, or love extreme sports – go for it!  Don’t feel pressured to follow trends or write about the latest mascara if you’re not feeling it!  I won’t say that it shows in your writing, because if you’re great at writing then it won’t!  However, you won’t feel inspired by it, and it’s YOUR blog!

You don’t need to spend lots of money

You really don’t need to buy every beauty product out there to be able to create content.  Get creative, write about your other passions or things that are going on in your life!   It’s easy to get carried away and buy every new product that launches but I promise your bank balance won’t thank you for it!

It’s okay to take a break

In the last 2 years of blogging I have fallen in and out of love with my blog so many times it’s felt like a storyline in a soap opera!  I’ve changed my blogs name several times, experimented with posting schedules, and have been so overwhelmed by the whole bloggosphere that I’ve had to take a break entirely!  As well as this I’ve had a crazy busy personal life, buying our first home, getting married and planning our honeymoon!  I used to feel like a massive failure for not being able to post consistently, but after taking a step back I’ve remembered that this is supposed to be fun! This leads into the next thing I’ve learnt…

You don’t have to take yourself too seriously

My Twitter feed always seems to be filled with posts about ‘What not to do on Twitter’ and ‘How to run a successful blog’.  They are filled with tips on what that person thinks is right.  We all have different aspirations, and I’m sure I’m not alone when I say that this is just a hobby!  I don’t have plans to turn this into my job, so so-what if sometimes it’s only my Mum that reads this ?! (Hi Mum!)

Don’t compare yourself to others

It’s great if other blogs inspire you, but you don’t need to feel like every blog is competition.  Yes, there might be newer blogs with more followers than you, but just keep doing what you’re doing – life’s not all about numbers! The internet it huge, there’s room for all of us here! *big hug*

I’d love to know what you’ve learnt so far from blogging, also please leave me your links in the comments, I love reading new blogs!

♥♥♥

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’| YouTube

Leave a Reply

